San Luis Obispo County banner image

San Luis Obispo County

San Luis Obispo County is located along the central coast, bordered by Monterey County to the north, Kern County to the east, and Santa Barbara County to the south. The county seat is the city of San Luis Obispo, which is also the largest city in the county. Other major towns in the county include Atascadero, Arroyo Grande, Grover Beach, and Morro Bay. The population of the county is around 280,000.

The county has a Mediterranean climate, with mild winters and hot, dry summers. The geography of the county is diverse, with coastal areas, rolling hills, and mountains. The Santa Lucia Range runs through the county and is home to several state parks, including Montana de Oro and Pismo State Beach. San Luis Obispo is also home to Cal Poly university, one of the most well known educational institutions in the state.

The county has a rich history that dates back to the indigenous Chumash people, who lived in the area for thousands of years. The county was later explored by Spanish colonial missionaries and eventually became part of Mexico before being ceded to the United States in 1848.

The economy of the county is diverse, with agriculture, tourism, and manufacturing being major industries. The county is known for its wine production and is home to several wineries. It is also a popular tourist destination, with many visitors coming to enjoy the beautiful coastline and outdoor recreation opportunities.

Commercial cannabis is legal in San Luis Obispo county, with a large amount of retail locations and some varied mixed light and outdoor cultivation.

Are you 21 or older?
By continuing, you acknowledge that you have read, understood, and agree to our terms of use and privacy policy